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Commonwealth of Kentucky 
Board of Interpreters for the 
Deaf and Hard of Hearing 
P.O. Box 1360 
Frankfort, KY 40602 
Ph: 502-892-4252 
Fax: 502-564-4818 
KBI@ky.gov 

TEMPORARY LICENSE 
EXTENSION APPLICATION 

 DPL-KBI- 006  
 Rev. April 2024 

KRS 309.312 
201 KAR 39:050. Section 4, and 
201 KAR 39:070 

A temporary license may be issued for a maximum of FIVE (5) consecutive licensure years from the date of issuance. 
Individuals who initially applied as Deaf or Hard of Hearing, working towards becoming a CDI, may hold temporary 
licensure for a maximum of TEN (10) consecutive licensure years from the date of initial issuance. At the end of that 
timeframe, there are no additional extensions. 

Note: “Licensure year” means the period between July 1st of each year and June 30th of the following year or 
the time from which a license or temporary license was granted until the next June 30th. 

Temporary licenses expire on July 1 each year. There is no grace period for an extension.  Per KRS Chapter 309 
and regulations governing this profession, you are required to request an extension of your temporary license 
every year by submitting: 

1. Temporary License Extension Application form;
2. 18 hours of continuing education units (Proof of completion required. See Page 3;
3. A letter from your supervisor recommending your extension;
4. A new Plan of Supervision form; and
5. The renewal fee of $150 (non-refundable), made payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer. DO NOT

SEND CASH.
6. Return completed forms with the appropriate fee to the address above by the deadline date of July 1. THERE IS

NO GRACE PERIOD FOR AN EXTENSION.

SECTION 1 
(TYPE OR PRINT ALL INFORMATION) 

Last Name First Name Middle Name 

Social Security Number Temporary License Number: Date of initial issuance of 
temporary license 

Mailing Address 
Street or P.O. Box: 

City:            State:             Zip:              County: 

Telephone Numbers (including area code) 

Work:       Cell:      Home: 
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E-mail Address 

1.  Are you or your spouse an active military member? If yes, provide DD214.  
  

 
YES 

 
  

 
NO 

2.  Did you initially apply as a deaf or hard-of-hearing individual?  
  

 
YES 

 
  

 
NO 

3.  Have you ever been convicted of a felony, or a misdemeanor where a jail 
sentence was imposed, or any crime involving moral turpitude Since your 
last extension? If yes, send supporting documentation. 
 
 
If yes, what offense? 
 
 
 
 
If yes, please explain when, where, etc. 

 
  

 
YES 

 
  

 
NO 

4.  Have you ever been convicted of violating any federal or state law 
applicable to the practice of interpreting? If yes, send supporting 
documentation. 
 
 
If yes, what offense? 
 
 
 
 
If yes, please explain when, where, etc. 

 
  

 
YES 

 
  

 
NO 

5.  Have you ever been found to have violated the code of ethics of a national 
organization that issued you a certification you hold or ever held? If yes, 
send supporting documentation. 
 
 
If yes, what offense? 
 
 
 
 
If yes, please explain when, where, etc. 

 
  

 
YES 

 
  

 
NO 
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6.  Has your License to be a licensed interpreter or any other professional 

credential in Kentucky or any other state been subject to disciplinary review 
or disciplinary action? 
 
 
If yes, please explain when, where, etc. 

 
  

 
YES 

 
  

 
NO 

   
 

SECTION 2- Education 
 
 

1. Did you graduate from an Interpreter Training Program? 
 
If yes, did you receive a B.A. or A.A degree? 

 
  

 
YES 

 
 NO 

2. List all degrees obtained, whether an ITP or non-ITP degree: 
Post Secondary Institution        Degree         Completion Date               Major 
       

    

    

    

        
        

   

SECTION 3- CONTINUING EDUCATION UNITS 
Include the following: 

a) Complete date(s) (mm/dd/yyyy) 
 

b) Clock Hours obtained. 
 

c) Attach documentation of attendance. It is your responsibility to maintain all documentation 
of attendance. 

 
d) If the continuing education unit activity required Board approval, attach a copy. 

 
Requirements for continuing education units are outlined in 201 KAR 39:090, including those 
requiring prior Board approval. Eighteen (18) clock hours, three (3) in ethics, are required. 

 

 
 

Course Name Dates Attended 
mm/dd/yr 

Hours 
Earned 

Sponsoring 
Organization 

Prior Board 
Approval Y/N 
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CERTIFICATION AFFIDAVIT  

I, the licensee named in the above, do certify under penalty of law that the information contained herein 
is true, correct, and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief. 

 
I am aware that, should investigation at any time disclose any such misrepresentation or 
falsification, my license could be subject to disciplinary action by the Kentucky Board of 
Interpreters for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing. 

 
Applicant's Signature_________________________________________________________ Date_________________ 

(Sign your name - Do not print or type) mm/dd/yyyy 
 

Supervisor’s Signature ________________________________________________________ Date_________________ 
(Sign your name - Do not print or type) mm/dd/yyyy 
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